Cherry Poppin’

Ah, the first post. A fresh, untested, virgin blog, a brand new voice hollering out of the void, desperately hoping not to be drowned out by the cacophony of the entire human race doing the same thing, a special snowflake tumbling amid the fury of an avalanche, screaming pick me! notice me! love me!

Ugh.

Just in case the below is TL;DR [I’m so down with the lingo], this blog is all about offering tried-and-tested travel tips, taking photos and the occasional vid, talking shit, and baking pies. Oh yeah, I bake. WIFE MATERIAL.

If none of the above interests you, or if bad words offend you, stop reading now because it ain’t gonna change.

So, The Origin Story:

At the end of last year I was offered a redundancy package from my four-plus-year stint in real estate, to which I screamed F*CK YES. Give up the 9 to 5 and pursue all the things I’d dreamed of? Travel! Film school! SLEEP INS! One step closer to my life’s goal of being an independent-travelling-filmmaking-eco-warrior-house-renovating-couch-potato [goal currently under construction. Obvs.]

So I applied to film school and got accepted the next bloody day, which was AWESOME but also kinda screwed with the travel plans [Europe, the UK and possibly the USA for 5-8 months] that I’d put into motion before applying to university. To be perfectly honest didn’t think I had a chance in a hell of getting accepted, competing with all the fresh-faced school kiddies, but thought it was a way of getting my foot in the door for the following year. When I got the ‘Congratulations’ email, I was so surprised I actually expressed an emotion, out loud, and in front of other people [spoilers: that doesn’t happen often]. But accepting meant travel was off the cards, absolutely and entirely, until the end of my three-year degree. Damn dreams coming true really throws a spanner in the works, you know?

So I decided to give up on travel and start uni this year, slept on it, and woke up having a mild panic attack. I then used my adult prerogative and changed my damn mind, instead deciding to defer uni until 2017 and go ahead with the travel plans. Slept like the dead. Travel wins!

Somewhere along the way I also made the odd and possible regrettable choice to blog about the whole travel/film school/other stuff going on because I’m an adult and I have a life. I can’t speak to people IRL to save myself, but I like to write, I love to travel, plus I’m fundamentally lazy, incredibly frugal and a perfectionist control freak, which all together makes me a wordy, mouthy, efficient budget travel guru [in the making].

Welcome to the noise in my head, immediate family and BFF’s, as I’m sure you’ll be the only people reading this [hi mum].

2016. BRING IT.

2 thoughts on “Cherry Poppin’

Comments are closed.